……The Thoughts Of A Nigerian Youth

…………I was born in the 80’s
Growing up I was told am a leader tomorrow
Was told the future looks bright
Was told Nigeria is a great nation

I know I’ll live 90years on earth
Am almost thru with the 1st quarter of the 90years
When is the future gonna come
Maybe they lied that I’ll be a leader 1day

Perhaps I’ll be a leader 1day
Maybe when those old men decide they’ve had enough
Just enough money till they die
Maybe then I’ll have a chance

I was born in a country
Where the youth leader is my grandfather’s age
Does it mean we have no capable youth in this country
Or the chance to be a leader is not just existing

Other countries of the world recycle plastics and bottles
My country recycle leaders
Same leaders that were there before my birth
Still have the ambition to rule again

The man that ruled some years before I was born
Wants to come back again
He said he is too young to quit politics
Maybe am too old to be a leader

Boko haram in the north
Ritualists in the east
Militants in the south
Armed robbers in the west

Yet we all have a mutual enemy
The federal govt fucks us all
They don’t care if we live or die
The result of the choice we made

Millions of graduates are produced yearly
No provision is made for any of us
We all have to fight for the few jobs available
That’s the situation we find ourselves

As an optimist the future looks good
As a pessimist the future looks dark
As a realist the future looks uncertain
But as a Nigerian youth I know I will make it
That’s the spirit I was born with

Just a thought
My thought
The yearning of millions of Nigerian Youth
What we think everyday.

Written by Amarachi Amaechi

2 thoughts on “……The Thoughts Of A Nigerian Youth

  1. Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my website thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to to find things to improve my website!I suppose its adequate to use some of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

